Powered by Bravenet Bravenet Blog

Tag Board

This tag board is currently empty.

Please type in the four characters shown in the black box.

Wednesday, July 17th 2019

2:01 PM

SCV Telegraph - 2019 SCV National Competitive Award Winners

Greetings Compatriots!

SCV Awards Committee Chairman Randy Burbage released the following list of award winners from the Awards Luncheon and Banquet held at last week's Annual Reunion in Mobile, Alabama. Congratulations to all award recipients!

Adam Southern
Executive Director


2019 SCV National Competitive Award Winners

Scrapbook Awards

Dr. B.H. Webster Award- Best Scrapbook for camps < 50 members.
Lt. Alexander Cameron Camp #2226 Greenville, Texas.
James M. Pearce, Commander.

Judah P. Benjamin Award - Best Scrapbook for camps > 50 members.
R.E. Lee Camp #239 Fort Worth, Texas. Kirk Barnett, Commander.

Historical Project Award

Dr. James B. Butler Award - Best historical project by camp or individual.
Two first place winners this year:
1) Ft. Blakeley Camp #1864 Baldwin County, Alabama. Tommy Rhodes, Commander. For relocation / re-dedication of monument removed from West Palm Beach, Florida cemetery.
2) Secession Camp #4 Charleston, SC. Charles Long, Lt. Commander / Project Director. For Landscaping / Irrigation Project at Soldiers Ground in Magnolia Cemetery, Charleston, SC.

Website Award

General Samuel Cooper Award - Best Camp, Division or Army website.
Col. Bradford & Rose Camp #1638 Morristown / Mossy Creek, Tenn. Joshua Cameron, Webmaster

Newsletter Awards

Dr. Paul John Miller Award - Best newsletter camps < 50 members.
Confederate Secret Service Camp # 1710, Sierra Vista, Arizona for their newsletter, The Vedette. Curtis Tipton, Editor.
S.A. Cunningham Award - Best newsletter camps > 50 members.
Lt. Richard Taylor Camp # 1308, Shreveport, LA. Bobby Herring, Editor.

Dewitt Smith Jobe Award - Best Division Newsletter.
North Carolina Division for their newsletter, The Carolina Confederate. Byron Brady, Editor.

Stand Watie Award - For the largest donation to the Stand Watie Scholarship Fund. Illinois Division, Bradley A. Taylor, Commander.

Recruiting Awards

Edward L. Darling Award - To the individual SCV member recruiting the most members during the year.
J.C. Hanna, Gen. Richard Taylor Camp # 1308, Shreveport, LA. 75 new members.

Gen. Nathan Bedford Forrest Award - Presented to the camp with the greatest net gain in members. There was a three way tie with each camp recruiting 26 new members.
1) Kirby Smith Camp #1209, Jacksonville, FL. Calvin Hart, Commander
2) DeKalb Rifles Camp #1824, Selma, AL. Gary Carlyle, Commander
3) Col. William P. Rogers Camp #321, Corinth, MS.
Dennis M. Brown, Commander

General A.P. Hill Award - Presented to the Division with the greatest net gain in camps. The Tennessee Division, James Paterson, Commander.

Gen. Albert Sydney Johnson Award - Presented to the army with largest net gain in camps for the year. The Army of Trans Mississippi, Darrell Maples, Commander with a net gain of 7 new camps.

General William D. McCain Distinguish Camp Award

Distinguished Camp Award - Presented to the best camp in the SCV.
Admiral Raphael Semmes Camp #11 Mobile, AL. Joe Ringhofer, Commander.

Superior Camp Award - Highest scoring camp in each Army

Army of Northern Virginia - Secession Camp #4 Charleston, SC. Randy Burbage, Commander.
Army of Tennessee - Ft. Blakeley Camp #1864 Baldwin County, AL. Tommy Rhodes, Commander.
Army of Trans Mississippi - Capt. James P. Douglas Camp #124 Tyler, Texas. Johnnie Holley, Commander.

Outstanding Camp Award - Camps scoring well.
Confederate Secret Service Camp #1710 Sierra Vista, AZ.
Donnie Davis, Commander
Lt. F.C. Frasier Camp #668 High Point, NC. Ron Perdue, Commander.
16th South Carolina Regiment Camp #36 Greenville, SC. Frank Tucker, Commander.

Stephen D. Lee Award - Highest award presented to a non-member.
Phillip Nassar - Alabama
Gov. Brian P.Kemp - Georgia

Commander-in-Chief's Ladies Appreciation Award
Ella Hanna - Louisiana
Shirley White - North Carolina

Robert E. Lee Award
Walter Donnie Kennedy - Louisiana
Robert Samuel Jason Boschers - Tennessee
Darrell L. Maples - Missouri

Jefferson Davis Chalice - Highest Award that can be presented to a SCV member.
Douglas Nash - North Carolina

SCVNews and SCV Telegraph are Copyrighted
1999-2019, Sons of Confederate Veterans.
The SCV Telegraph Mailing List is for Official

SCV Telegraph mailing list

Sons of Confederate Veterans, PO Box 59, Columbia, TN 38402

0 comment(s).

There are no comments to this entry.

Post New Comment

No Smilies More Smilies »